abc blocks

Within the EYFS framework there are six areas of learning and development:


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

An extremely useful toolkit and explanation of the Early Years can be found on the Department for Education's website at:

The following information is copied from the site to explain briefly about the EYFS, which is composed of four main principles.

A unique Child

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

To learn more about these themes you can download the EYFS poster here.